Introducing Dad 100

I asked my fella if I could interview him for my blog and he said yes :-). In a longer post than my usual 100 words, here are some of his thoughts about our fertility treatment so far….

What has been the best part of doing fertility treatment?

The best part has been the hope. It’s only recently that I’ve come to the realisation that it’s actually happening. In the early stages, we were going along to the hospital for lots of tests and consultations with the doctors, but now I am getting very hopeful for the future. I’m beginning to feel strong paternal feelings.

What’s been the hardest part?

The amount of waiting. It’s gone on for a long time and we’ve still got a long way to go.

What’s been the hardest part of being my partner during our treatment?

Dealing with the mood swings. That has been tricky at times. But to be fair, you’ve been good most of the time. The fire-breathing monster only emerges occasionally!

What’s been the best part of doing this treatment together?

Creating our little vision board for our family, where we put up pictures of our four blastocysts, baby pictures and our ideal home. Just the hope it represents, really, it’s lovely. I think you’re ahead of me in all this. You were having these thoughts and feelings about all the possibilities years ago. It’s only just hitting me now.

Why do you think it took longer to dawn on you, what we were doing?

Probably because I have to do the least amount of work, physically. I’ve had to do the business in the ‘procurement room’ at the appointed time – that’s it! You’ve had to do a lot more than I have, so I think you’re further ahead than me, psychologically.

If you knew when we started the treatment how much there was to it, would you still do it?

Yes, of course, because it’s what we want – to have a family.

4 thoughts on “Introducing Dad 100

Leave a Reply

